3D & 2D art progress.

Red Riding Hood it is!

Red:

Wolves:

So I finally decided to throw my hat into the ring for CGHubs Fairy Tales Re-Imagined contest. This is extremely early on so you’re going to see a lot of my process going from bad to (usually) better in both 2D and 3D progression.

I was really trying to avoid re-imagining Little Red Riding Hood because it has been done so many times in the past and most of those times are amazingly successful re-interpretations. So I read a dozen other fairy tales that I haven’t read since I was a child which really brought back some memories. I had some strong ideas towards a couple other stories but overall the original concepts were pretty powerful as is. Since this is a re-imagining I had to force the issue on the concept. The story of Baba Yaga and the beautiful Vasilisa with her wooden doll that comes to life really attracted me on so many levels. Working out those concepts seem to me would take much longer than what I initially had for Red Riding Hood so I made the call and started my push forward.

So my idea is that Red Riding Hood is a drug runner in the not too distant alternate fairy tale land future. She rides the countryside on a sexy futuristic motorcycle of some design I still need to piece together. There’s a pack of wolves that are on her trail and I kind of envision them more as comedic relief instead of a single dark menace. Grandma isn’t a relative of Red, in fact “Grandma” is the nickname of the grower that Red gets her supply from. He has a house or facility(ies) in the forest. I have a couple ideas on why he is nicknamed “Grandma” but will wait to reveal those. I guess that’s pretty much it as far as the idea goes for right now. There’s a lot more imagery in my head but it has to be sorted out, adjectives properly put to things as well as everything being put on paper.

As I mentioned earlier I’m just showing my process from ugliest to best with the focus on improving the concept more and more.

Leave a Reply

