3D & 2D art progress.

The Darkness WIP.

Here’s a couple quick screen grabs of a ZBrush project I’m working on. The Darkness is one of my favorite comic book character designs and is perfect for a ZBrush piece (as long as I pull it off decent enough). This is still very early and I put on some place holder hair real quick to see if my face is meeting the proper proportions. This character is a challenge in itself to sculpt because everyone draws him differently or hides areas of the body (mainly the back and legs). So coming up with a design for some of that stuff is going to be left up to me. There’s a couple awesome reference pieces out there but in the end I’ve decided to try and match Marc Silvestri’s original work from the original issues.

Side Note: I have most of these books in my collection but don’t currently have access to that collection. So I am going off of the limited reference that I could find on the net.

UPDATE: Just posting a quick update since I’ve had some free time to work on this some more. Still some proportion issues to work out between the overall look of the figure and the armor and details that will be added on. This has been quite a challenge trying to break down the character and interpret that into the best case scenario for ZBrush as well as other programs down the pipeline. Whatever comes of this in the end it will be a rewarding learning experience. Enjoy!


5 responses

  1. hey looking good sir post some of the reference

    July 7, 2010 at 7:50 pm

    • Hey Shawn, here are my two main sources of inspiration. The first link is what I wanted to originally lean towards in look and feel. It has more realism to it (which I like) but the more I looked at the second link (issue #1, which is the original source material plus many more) it became extremely clear that was the design I was going towards. Maybe in the end I’ll be able to mix a little bit of both as long as they look consistent.

      http://www.coverbrowser.com/covers/darkness

      July 7, 2010 at 8:50 pm

  2. Amelia

    Wow!! Looks great 🙂 Can’t wait to see more!!

    July 8, 2010 at 12:44 am

  3. Amelia

    That looks fantastic 🙂 The lower legs look a little short to me – but what do I know…

    July 21, 2010 at 11:31 pm

    • They definitely look short but it’s more to do with their width. I’m going to play around with that area and may have to lengthen the arms again as well.

      July 22, 2010 at 12:13 am

Leave a Reply

