3D & 2D art progress.

Squid Character WIP.

I have been wanting to do some modeling involving tentacles for some time now (not sure why). I had multiple ideas of a squid character and here is the first iteration. Definitely needs some reworking plus I have some other ideas that seem to work in my head but not so much on paper. That’s one of the interesting challenges with creating things. There’s always that amazing mental image (or images) that you are trying to replicate as best as possible into whatever media you are using. Some things work great and others not so much. A great 2D piece may need a lot of changes to be equally as good in 3D. Another thing that I am huge on is researching. Knowing that I have a squid being integrated into the character design I had to research squids. Images were very important but also behaviors, defense, environments, etc. All of those things help fully flesh out my ideas and definitely create new and better additions that weren’t originally thought of. I can’t wait to see what this will eventually evolve and change into both in its 2D form and especially the 3D form.

Sure I want to just jump right in and start working on the 3D portion, but I know at it’s current state it’s just not ready and I will have spent a lot of time creating a cool looking yet extremely flawed character. I think that’s something that a lot of artists do, their excitement for one aspect over powers the necessity of a crucial preceding aspect. The end result looks great and shows off great execution as well as filling the artists need to do what they wanted to do (at that point in time), but what is left over is a generic snapshot that won’t have lasting appeal.

One response

  1. Although I have a brand new Wacom waiting for me to use it, I just cant draw digitally. It sits there gathering dust. Great squid character concept. I love how the arm transforms into tentacles and how it looks like a real octopus, with eyes and all.

    December 6, 2010 at 12:05 pm

Leave a Reply

